1 year cancer free!

I am currently spending 1 year cancer free!  Yay!  Let’s take a moment to celebrate that.

So what are we doing now that we’re heading toward the clear and our medical bills are all paid off?  Well, for starters, our medical bills aren’t all paid off.  It’s the start of a new year and a few scans and appointments later I’ve got another $1,600 in bills to pay.  I’m taking a little different approach this time and I’m going to go on a payment plan for $100 a month so I can make sure that I max out an IRA without denting my emergency fund.

What are some other things we’re doing?  Air drying all of the laundry with an indoor ceiling mounted rack system, keeping the heat turned down, and making things from scratch (pancakes, pizza crust, etc).  I’m keeping a list of stock up prices on groceries and shopping the sales to keep things low.  These are all easy things to do and don’t take a whole lot of time.  You know how I know it doesn’t take a lot of time?  Because I work full time and go to school half time and I still manage to do it.

We are transitioning to simpler living and so far I am loving it.  I cannot wait until I graduate and have more free time to do these things to help us sustain and reduce our environmental impact.

I’m also getting comfortable with being uncomfortable.  More on that coming next!

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

