Staying warm in the winter

There are plenty of people out there that are a whole lot more extreme that I am.  They don’t turn on their heat or the keep their heat lower than 55°F or who knows what else.  I’m realistic here: I have a forever impaired immune system, am prone to pneumonia, and my Old Man works outside.  There is a reasonable limit to cold for us.  With that being said, I try to maintain an indoor temperature between 64 and 65°F while we are inside.  There are absolutely days I need it to be warmer than that too.

I have a fancy Nest thermostat that my brother bought me for Christmas a few years ago.  I can log on any time to adjust the temperature or see if the furnace is running or if my cat is freezing (he sleeps under a blanket all day, he’s not cold).  So if my house is typically set to 64°F their “eco” features adjusts it down in the winter when I’m not home.  My current eco setting is 61°F because my cat will protest otherwise, and it goes down to 62°F during the night (if you’ve been through menopause you may understand hot flashes pop up a lot at night so I put it down to this temperature  after my very first one and we’ve left it ever since).  We recently bought a brand new puffy comforter and I am using some fleece pajamas my mother-in-law purchased me for Christmas last year (despite the hot flashes…) so I am toasty at night.

I have been considering bumping the thermostat down another degree at night because that’s when it’s typically the coldest here in the frigid arctic (okay, not the arctic but with all of this arctic air and polar vortex stuff, it could be).  The big debate for me is if it’s worth it to lower the thermostat more and perhaps purchase a thick thermal blanket for night as well as the comforter.   It will certainly keep us warmer, but what will the payoff be?  That isn’t the simplest calculation for me to do (and it involves crunching a lot of numbers) so I’ll pass on doing it for now.

Now that you have my cold house background, you may be wondering how we stay warm in the winter in 64°F.  For starters, we wear socks or slippers all the time at home.  I have solid floors on top of an insulated crawl, but they still can get chilly when the outside temp is 0°F or single digits, at least.  Warm feet warm your soul.  We also have a lot of blankets – none of which we’ve ever purchased.  People love gifting blankets in cold winters and we love blankets.  I also have several quilts that I don’t even use very often (but they were handmade and I know I will value them more sometime in the future).  We use blankets just about any time we are sitting down, even when eating dinner.  There is something nice about blankets.

We also use robes.  My Old Man bought me a new robe two winters ago and I just adore it and wear it eight months out of the year.  It’s warm and cozy and soft and allows me to do things around the house with a blanket.

We wear layers all the time.  I mean, really, all the time.  At any given time I am probably wearing a camisole, a shirt, and a hoodie.  My Old Man wears thermals for work and comes home and keeps them on too.

Our bodies are used to it!  We are built for the cold and have been acclimatized to still enjoy any temperature above freezing.  When it gets below freezing I have other thoughts but we still manage.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Savings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

