December: End of year savings!

It’s the end of the year!  Let’s check in and see how I did for December and the year end.

December:
Groceries: -$146.43
Eating out: -$35.45
Gas: -$18.00
Natural gas: $3.45
Electric:  $11.77
Remodel loan: $237.50

To recap the month of December: We ate and we ate a lot (clearly).

My monthly savings is $52.84.

For the Year (Goal is targeted reduction from last year)

Groceries
Goal: $300
Actual: -$100.67

Eating Out
Goal:$100
Actual: -$18.97

Gas
Goal: $50
Actual:  -$136.01

Natural gas
Goal: $45
Actual: $173.01.

Electric
Goal: $38
Actual: $35.45.

Remodel loan: $2,137
Actual: $2,137.

Let me say that I’ve nearly halved my natural gas usage since I decided to encapsulate my crawl space and get a tankless water heater (that was more space necessity).  Now the extra $450 a year in savings isn’t that much when you consider how much I spent, but I still swear by the encapsulation at least, and the tankless water heater if you have space limitations.

I overspent this year on both gas and groceries.  I’ve explained before that I did a lot of traveling for work this year via car and that’s a huge reason for my higher gas usage.  But, with that also came $1,012 of expense checks which is more than I spent on gas.  So I guess I win because I made money on gas this year?  Does it work that way?  I don’t know.

Groceries were hit and miss for me all hear, in part because I didn’t have a heavy focus on them.  I didn’t price shop and sale shop as much as I wanted.  I also did a lot of stocking up.  And maybe since I’m not too far off from last year’s totals I’m just not really able to go a whole lot lower.  There is a point where your expenses bottom out and you cannot cut anymore.  Nonetheless, I’ll try some more next year.

Net worth increase: $45,283 (It wasn’t my goal, but it is still definitely a win)

Total savings since September 2015: $5,185.07.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Savings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

