Money & Marriage

One of the most important things about marriage is being on the same page financially.  You have to share the same financial goals or you will definitely have some major problems.  I am lucky in that my Old Man and I have shared one very important trait from the start: we’re both kind of cheap.  Cheap, thrifty, frugal, tight.  Call it whatever you will, I don’t care.  We’ve definitely got it.  We have no problem spending money on certain things that are really worth it to us, but we won’t spend money on just anything.

When I told my Old Man about my dream to retire by 45, he was pretty ecstatic.  His parents will likely have to work into their 70s to cover all of their bills and he never wants that to happen to him.  That’s part of the reason he is a saver and he isn’t saving for a boat or a car or a second house, he’s saving for retirement.  He doesn’t necessarily want to put as much into his retirement account as I want him to, but it’s a process.  He knows that in order to achieve our retirement dream, we need to save those dollars.

We’re fortunate that our savings are going to allow us to do some pretty incredible things while we’re young.  For starters, in about two years, my Old Man will be able to go down to working part time and will be able to start up his own little business doing something crafty that he has wanted to for awhile.  He’ll also manage our rental properties.  Once we have kids, hopefully in not too many years, he’ll also be a stay at home parent.  This is a huge priority for us and will take some careful planning and frugal muscles.  Hopefully we’ll have those muscles fully developed by that point as well as a few sources of income.

Being on the same page means we’re not getting into debt, we’re driving our cars into the ground, and we’re making conscious decisions about our finances that move us toward early retirement.  We couldn’t do this without each other.  We both have a lot of DIY skills, we both get our hands dirty, we both save large sums of money for our income, and we both dream of getting out of the rat race.  Hopefully our skills will bring in a little extra money in the (near) future.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

