Budget Breakfast Burritos

One of the things I am personally working on is nutrition.  I have been in a stage the last several months where if it’s something my stomach can tolerate and my nose can handle smelling, I eat it, regardless of calories or sugar.  Life was all about gaining weight (because I wasn’t maintaining weight) and because of that, I got into some bad habits.  But I have found that the breakfast I ate prior to going through chemo just doesn’t cut it for me anymore.  I eat and then a half hour later I’m reaching for an emergency granola bar because cereal just isn’t that satisfying.  So, with this, I am trying to make breakfast burritos.  I settled on breakfast burritos for a few reasons:

  1. I am not waking up every morning to cook breakfast
  2. Neither of us are hungry first thing in the morning
  3. Neither of us really like eggs so we don’t want to eat scrambled eggs every morning
  4. Nonetheless, eggs are healthy and packed with protein and we need that more than we need carbs for breakfast
  5. A burrito can hide a lot of the egg and we can smother it in cheese and add a little pork sausage or other goodies
  6. I can make these ahead a freeze them
  7. Eggs regularly go on sale for around $1 a dozen here so I can make a pretty cheap breakfast with them (and if this works out, stock up when eggs are on sale)
  8. Life is about in-sourcing, not outsourcing.  We’re trying to do more of it (even though we rarely buy breakfast)

So I bought some eggs, tortillas, sausage, and cheese, and used a little onion I already had, and made some breakfast burritos.  Here’s the cost breakdown:

1 dozen eggs: $0.77 with cashback offer of $0.50 = $0.27
16 count tortillas: $3.59
Shredded cheese: $2.79
Sausage roll: $2.50

To make 10 breakfast burritos I used: 10 eggs, 10 tortillas, 1/4 bag of shredded cheese, 1/2 of sausage roll, a little bit of butter, a tiny bit of milk, some pepper, and 1/4 of an onion.

Total Meal Cost for 10 meals: $6.76 or roughly 68 cents per meal!
Eggs: $0.22
Tortillas: $2.24
Cheese: $0.70
Sausage: 1.25
Milk: $0.05
Butter: $0.05
Onion: $0.25

Okay, that assumes I can keep getting a great deal on my eggs (I bought them of 88 cents last week so we’re having some egg deal here).  Eggs are usually prices $1.29 a dozen here so that would bump my egg cost up to $1.08 for a total of $7.62 for 10 meals.  That’s still a lot cheaper than that gas station burrito.  And let me tell you, it was delicious too.  This breakfast is so much more filling than my usual cereal too.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Setting up for Success and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

