April Savings

Another month comes to a close, and, I have to admit, I love it because I get to see what all of my soldiers (dollars) have done for me and I get to see how several financial bloggers have spent their money and how their soldiers have worked for them.  It’s exciting!

So let’s talk savings, both what I did and did not save money on.

Groceries: -$135.77
Eating out: $11.98
Gas: $6.00
Natural gas: $52.96
Electric: $1.59
Mortgage overpayment: $50
Remodel Loan: $237.50

We saved a little on eating out  (I thought it would be much lower but I forgot we went out at the beginning of the month). I did save money on natural gas usage, but that really can’t last forever.  The heating season is coming to a close and after that, the only thing I could further cut is use of the dryer (and I just might do that).  My electric usage has decreased an insignificant amount and is not at the $3 a month I require to meet my electric usage goal.  It’s too early to say if this goal is out of reach, but it’s not looking fully achievable either, unless I can really do some low spend electric weekends.  I paid $50 less on the mortgage this month than last year as well.  Still working on getting rid of the PMI I naively accepted.  Then there is the remodel loan that I paid off last month so I freed of $237.50 in my budget to go to medical bills every month for the next year.  I did not miss writing out that check this month.

I spent a little more on groceries because I stocked up and I also went back to work and added a few convenience foods for me and my Old Man while I was trying to make the adjustment.  I also didn’t spend a whole lot last April on groceries for reasons I don’t know.  While I “budget” $250 a month for groceries and supplies, including pet food and household goods and cleaners, my stretch goal this year is $208 a month and so far, not on track to achieve that goal either.

My total savings for April comes to $224.26 and over eight months I have saved $3533.14 toward medical bills.  Yes, I still have a long way to go, but some simple sacrifice has gotten me to the point of nearly half of my medical bills being paid without coming out of savings!

My net worth increased by $4,503 for a four month total of $12,676 which is pretty awesome considering everything that has been going on (no work + lots of bills).  I will admit to you that I made some real estate adjustments for the properties that are not my primary residence this month which I normally only do at the start of the year.  But I’ve got a hot market and a few properties and altogether, the change in value accounted for $2,600 of my net worth.  My real estate holdings make up a huge percentage of my portfolio still so this is a pretty small change considering everything.  And if I adjusted my primary residence for what it could actually sell for, my net worth would easily increase by $50,000+ but since I don’t intend to liquidate my home, I keep it at the lowest value I believe it would sell for, hot market or not.

Let’s see, what are goals for next month?  How about I just try to get my tuition paid in full and keep chugging away at saving those pennies (that turn into dollars).

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Savings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

