Starting to Plan a Wedding

I know I’ve been terrible at posting lately.  I was a terrible wreck the last week and a half because I had a scan and on that scan was a spot.  This is like a nightmare scenario for any cancer patient that has just finished treatment and is in remission.  I spent every free second I had reading up on this spot and the chances that it was something and the chances that it wasn’t something.  I starting readying up on organ removal and partial removal and hormone replacements and all sorts of things because I had a full week in between the results being posted and seeing my doctor.  I just kept thinking that mentally I could not go through this again.  The good news is, right now at least, I don’t have to go through it again.  It’s a spot and it could (and may very well) be cancer but it’s not a cancer that is going to (likely) spread very fast if it is a cancer.  So we wait and watch it and measure it and I get to come to terms with the idea that I might still have cancer hanging out in my body and that in some cases (like the case of my stubborn tumor), the best treatment for potential cancer is…watching it to see if it starts to act like cancer.

Now that I’ve got that off my mind, I can talk a little about money/finances/retirement/etc.  And I can sleep at night.  My Old Man and I put a deposit down for our upcoming wedding (5 months, 2 days!) this month and it marked both a happiness and sadness for me.  I was happy because someone else is dealing with all of the wedding chaos, but sad because our original plans for a courthouse wedding and backyard party just aren’t going to work.  However, the doctors have told me lately that the most important thing I can do for me is recognize that I can’t do it all and I won’t be me for awhile.  So outsourcing this wedding is probably not the worst idea for my health and sanity.  Now the key is for us to do it in a cost efficient way.

The food breakdown is $19.95 per plate which is actually the major cost for us.  The venue was $300 to rent and the chapel for the actual wedding is $350.  Add in the gratuity and the tax…and we’re coming in around $3,300 for all of that.  We’re still missing a DJ, alcohol, favors, desserts, centerpieces, invites, and a minister.  I’m expecting all of that to come in around $4,300.  My in-laws will be paying for the minister and likely something else because that’s their gift to us.

I also blew my budget completely on a gorgeous dress.  The dress was $350 and I was looking to spend around $100.  But, it is a used dress and I should be able to sell it when I am done with it for a hundred dollars or maybe two.  The most important thing I realized is how quickly weddings can get expensive.  Now, I’m keeping in mind that the majority of our costs are food related, but it’s still crazy how fast things add up.  Our wedding budget all-in, including the dress and suit, is $5,000 (for 100 people).  With a little scrimping and searching, I’m hoping we can come in close to that.  I’ve been scouring websites for deals and trying to think about how do this in a cost efficient way.  So if you need advice about how to throw a cheap wedding, maybe don’t look to me for it.

We’ll see if I can get any great deals on any of the remaining items to get.  I’ll keep you updated, because my spendypants are showing, and I don’t like it!

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

