Going Overboard (Part 1)

I have been feeling great lately!  So great, actually, that I have been analyzing and re-analyzing and checking and double checking my spreadsheets.  I’ve added columns, subtracted columns, created more charts, and so many more instant calculations.  I enter something in on one page and that number gets used in a dozen other places.  Part of this is because I have an engineering problem that I like numbers and I like data and I like lots of ways to see the same numbers and the same data.  And, like I have been known to do in the past, I like to take certain things a little too far.

Total Monthly Spending
In true His Polish Princess Fashion, I went overboard on my spending analysis for the three years.  Truthfully, I have never looked at my spending as a whole, rather, just the disjointed categories I break everything out into at the end of each month.  I spend spending reduction or increase goals from there based on what I project they will be or I want to push myself to achieve.  I never once calculated how much I spend every month, only how much I save (in percentage form).  So I created a new column in my monthly list called “Total Spending” and I was shocked how much I spend some months (I am talking nearly $7,000!).  Then I wondered how much is my non-housing cost, because, well, I hope to not have to spend on housing one day in the next dozen or so years.  That number looks a little better, but why was my spending so high some months.  The culprits were easy to find when I looked deeper into my numbers: education expenses for my Master’s, and remodelling.  My house is a money pit, this I knew, but I didn’t realize how much it inflated my total monthly spending.  As for education, I am well aware that when you have a tuition bill nearly $4,000, your monthly expenses will be greater than $4,000 that month.

I decided I want to take out the expenses I deemed anomalies (remodeling and education) because they are “one time expenses”  won’t continue for much longer (I mean, I only have two more house projects left and then I’m good until I need a new roof in about 13 years).  I also decided to remove the mortgage so I could easily see my discretionary spending (you can argue that things like groceries and electricity aren’t discretionary, but I certainly have some control over how much I spend in these areas).  This lead to numbers that were truly surprising to me.  The most I have ever spent in a month?  Just under $4,000 and that includes $1,000 in medical bills.  The least?  $859.  That one surprised me.  So I wondered some more…

Total Yearly Spending
This is rinse and repeat my monthly spending, just on a yearly basis.  I already had a little flag off to the side that told me I spent around $34,500, $36,500 in 2014 and significantly more in 2015 at $52,500, but I wondered what would happen if I take the big numbers that skew my spending and throw them out the window.  So I removed remodelling expenses and education expenses to try to get an idea of what my discretionary expenses were.  It turns out, I spend about $31,000 per year when I exclude remodelling and education.  If I exclude all of my fun medical expenses, this drops to about $29,000.  And, if I take out my mortgage payments, my total non-mortgage, education, remodel, and medical expenses clock in right around $17,300 per year.  This means I am living on a lot less than I thought I was and I still feel like I am living like a princess.

Now, you can say I manipulated these numbers a lot, and that’s true, I did.  But I will argue that the great majority of the $14,000 I spent in remodelling costs last year will be a one time expense.  Siding your house and doing a significant amount of masonry work on it should be one time expenses over the life of the house.  It was a big project and thus made my spending for 2015 an anomaly.  Combine that with several thousand dollars worth of education and medical expenses, and it’s a crazy expensive year!  But my true test in this was not to manipulate data until I felt good, it was to determine if I had lifestyle inflation from my salary increases over the last few years.  You could say remodeling is in a way lifestyle inflation, and that’s fine, but I call it preventing my bee infestation from worsening and getting stung and incurring several thousands of dollars on epi-pens and hospital costs.  I also call it better sealing my house which helped lower my heat bill.  But definitely, many parts of it were wants, not necessities.  The most important thing I learned is that in spite of pay raises, I spent less in 2015 than I did in 2014, and it’s only a slight uptick from 2013 where I spent half of the year living alone.

I guess this means I could be closer than I think towards retiring early.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Savings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

