“GRATIFY NOW”

Maybe work doesn’t excite you, maybe you don’t love your job and have never loved a job, maybe your coworkers aren’t your second family.  That’s not how it goes for me. I seriously missed work for the mental stimulation and social interaction and because my job is just awesome.  So I am so happy to be back at work and not sitting on the couch.

So, with two days back I have had time to discuss what’s new and ongoing in the world of workplace finances (because in my area, nothing is off limits). Apparently I missed a conversation yesterday about instant gratification during lunch but I had my say during breakfast (because we do a lot together). One of the drivers of instant gratification is peer pressure, and it comes at all ages.  Examples:

  • Youth baseball coach has a BMW, teenager is embarrassed to show up in a small, economical car.
  • Kids want to spend family time watching a new movie at the theaters because every other kid at school has.

Is there a right or wrong thing for a parent to do there?  No, probably not, it’s a matter of preference. But someone at the lunch table yesterday insisted that in life, you must “Gratify now!” an the everyone sort of turned their heads and shrugged. This morning we all decided together that “Gratify now!” is not the right answer but neither is “Hoard your pennies!” So, as with all things in life, it’s about the balance (which I usually lack).

So when I post my monthly savings in a few days and bemoan that I only cut my electric bill a few dollars or I overspent on groceries (I haven’t run numbers yet), feel free to remind me that there has to be some balance, especially some months when you have to remember you cheated death and  a night of bowling or bocce is well worth he $40 it costs to do it.

Also, I generally oppose “Gratify now!” unless it involves me wanting chocolate.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Setting up for Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment