Setting a Schedule to Keep it in House

In my preparations to go back to work, I decided to make a cleaning schedule because I have an unhealthy obsession with spreadsheets and because I know I need to balance my time in order to balance my money.

I have a lot of family members that tell me how hard life is and that they don’t have time to cook or clean.  That’s just not true.  Then they tell me I would never understand because I have an SO who helps around he house.  Well let me tell you, that just isn’t exactly how it goes.  Since my Old Man works a lot of hours and has a longer commute, most of the housework just falls on me. That’s fine by me, it just means I need to plan things out so I don’t fall into the trap of paying people to do things I can easily do.

So I put my spreadsheet love to the test and built a cleaning spreadsheet that has one or two tasks to be done each day so I don’t get overwhelmed.  Here is a breakdown of my daily, weekly, bi-weekly, and monthly tasks:

Daily

  • Sweep the hard floors (thank you, country roads)
  • Dishes (into the dishwasher)
  • Wipe down counters

Weekly

  • Vacuum floors
  • Mop floors (thank you again, country roads)
  • Laundry
  • Go through the mail
  • Cat litter

Bi-Weekly

  • Bathrooms
  • Bedding

Monthly

  • Scrub floors (a good scrub)
  • Dust
  • Windows
  • Vacuum furniture
About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Setting up for Success and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

