Grateful

I see a lot of people in my life that are always wanting more. They are never happy with what they have and never see that they do have a lot and that there are plenty more people less fortunate than they are. I think this is a problem that we all struggle with at times.

I had the biggest struggle with this when I was too sick to get out of bed.  I was so busy being focused on being sick, that I didn’t focus on all of the wonderful, lucky things I had. Yes, I was sick, but I had money to pay my bills, family to care for me, no pressure to work, food to eat, and a roof over my head. When I started remembering these things, I started to get out of bed.

I try to do some charity oriented things every year, and the causes that are important to me are all children related, basically. I adopt a family, which is really low impact, but providing toilet paper, clothes, and a few learning toys for Christmas is nothing for me.  I spend $400-500 on things most families consider a necessity to give to single moms to Christmas. I donate somewhat regularly to a local food bank (which I want to step up) and love donorschoose.org where I can support a classroom. All of these things remind me how grateful I am and I know that a little bit of money can help a lot.

So let’s all be grateful for what we’ve got, and when we’ve got a little extra and are good for awhile, let’s give a little to those who are less fortunate.  Look for the good in every day.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

