Bad Habit: Treating Yourself/Celebrations

Well, I am halfway through radiation and it is kicking my butt.  I am in constant pain and kind of grumpy about it.  And I am not eating very well because of said pain in my throat.

In my February Savings post, I said that we had celebrated a lot.  This is a way of saying that we treated ourselves out to a spendy time rather than celebrating at home and we made up some lame justification for it. And I totally get it, we were tired and we had a long fight and it finally looked like it was over and we just wanted to relax.

The problem with this relaxation is that it starts a bad habit of going out to eat that we have sort of continued and we aren’t celebrating anymore.  We’re still tired and we’re still fighting but it isn’t that hard for us to make pasta or grilled cheese quickly when we don’t feel like cooking.

Life is hard, and there is nothing wrong with going out to eat every now and again, but don’t let life being hard be an excuse to treat yourself (out to eat, manicures, needless shopping, etc.) all the time.  And when you start, it usually turns into all the time.

So I’m reminding myself to cut back and enjoy the frugal things in life.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in What Not to Do and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

