Expenses to Prepare for

March will be my last month at home and not working.  I will have been off work about 4 months by the time I return, but it only feels like a few days. I expect the rest of the month to be very busy as I am starting to feel well enough often enough to accomplish things.

Going back to work for me is a signal that more expenses are right around the corner.  When the lump on my neck appeared last August, I was working 40 hours a week, going to school  6 hours a week, and doing a home remodel with the little time I had left. Well, all of those things were just left hanging and incomplete.

I have most of the material to finish the exterior walls of my house, except for a few hundred pounds of mortar. But we also decided to redo our front porch with plastic decking.  Our porch isn’t too old, between ten to fifteen years, but it was poorly constructed and poorly maintained.  Since this is our “forever” house, we decided to spend a little extra money now so that we don’t have to do maintenance and staining every few years on a wooden deck.  This project will cost a few thousand dollars, depending on whether or not we add a railing.

But then there is grad school at the cost of about $2,000 per class. I have to take four classes this year to stay on track which means two over the summer and two in the fall… when we go on our honeymoon.  I won’t lie, part of me is wondering how I can pay for all of this.  I am also wondering how I will have the time for all of this.  I guess I better get moving to accomplish what I can while I’m still not working because life is about to get real again.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Setting up for Success and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

