February Savings

February was a big month for me.  I was declared cancer free for all of two weeks and because of that, we did some celebrating.  Who knew it would be premature celebration? So I may not be cancer free but I still tried to save some money in my usual ways to offset my medical bills.  As usual, I am comparing my spending to that of last year. We did some stocking up on groceries and, really, this just wasn’t our best month.

  • Groceries: -$102.63 (I was even $67.18 over my budget but when there are good deals on meat and staples, I usually buy them. But, now I am in the hole for the next few months to get back under budget.)
  • Eating out: -$71.30 (celebrations, as I said)
  • Gas: $31.50
  • Natural gas: $29.88
  • Electric: $0.21
  • Mortgage overpayment: $100

This brings me to a lower than desired monthly savings of -$12.34. My six month savings is $3,115.08. This is definitely not the direction I wanted to go in. In terms of electricity, I thought I did a lot more than my bill shows to cut that bill down. I guess I need to take a look at my hour by hour breakdown of electricity usage that the electric company provides and see when I am using electricity.  But my savings on natural gas and gasoline are very nice.

This is the thing with trying to cut back and save: sometimes, things happen, or you let your emotions get you a little bit, and it doesn’t work out quite the way you want it to.

So I am going to look at the good things that happened in February too: I maxed out my tax-deductible contributions to an IRA, I cut my natural gas bill to a record low while being home, I didn’t buy any clothes or accessories, and I am stocked up on a lot of things for a long time and should be able to have a record low grocery spending month coming up.

 

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Savings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

