The Dreaded Accumulation of Stuff

One of the things I have been doing with my overwhelming amount of free time is cleaning out all of the “stuff” we have somehow accumulated in the three and a half years we have lived in this house. You won’t believe how much stuff we have that we don’t use.

I have been doing this for two reasons: we have too much stuff for the size of our house and I need the money I can get from selling this stuff to help offset medical bills.

My entire life, my family as a whole has struggled with stuff.  I have some family members who cannot have people over to their house because they have so many things.  I never want to be that way.  I have been cleaning out those houses for years and not getting anywhere.  So when I started my journey at the beginning of February one year ago, my journey of fiscal responsibility and saving and fulfilling my life in sort of an anti-consumerist way, I started looking at the number of things in my house I don’t even use.

I went through my cupboards and got rid of things I have never touched in this house. Sometimes I just walk by a decoration on a table and throw it in a box to be sold. The Old Man and I both collect things and now I think if something isn’t a part of my collection, why keep it unless it has sentimental or practical value? We like antiques, not new things.  Why do I need so many new things?

This outlook on stuff, although some people say it is twisted, has helped me cut out spending on stuff.  I just don’t need it.  I have even gone through my antique collection and decided to get rid of what I store in boxes and only keep the pieces I love the most and display and use. There isn’t a lot of money in anything I have, but there is a weight that holds me down in having a bedroom full of boxes.

What is your relationship with stuff?

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Setting up for Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

