January Savings

The numbers from January are in and this is what I have saved:

  • Groceries: $286.87 (last January I didn’t care about my grocery spending)
  • Eating out: $35.45
  • Gas: -$1.50
  • Natural gas: $44.91
  • Electric: $3.50
  • Auto Insurance: $604.46
  • Mortgage overpayment: $100

This brings me to a total monthly savings of $1073.69 and a five month savings of $3127.42.

I realized that I’m really not doing as good as I want to on my electricity savings or gas.  But I only go to doctor appointments and that’s 35 miles away which isn’t helpful.  And I am also home using electricity all day whereas I used to go to work.

Here is what I am going to do to improve on electric costs for the month of February (Well, what is left of my cycle):

  • Shower with the lighted fan on only. I have a six light vanity that provides great light, but I don’t need it while I shower.
  • Prep meals and cook with only the kitchen lights on (3 lights) rather than the kitchen and table lights (7 more lights). I prep on the counter right next to the table but have managed just fine without it the last few days.
  • Follow my Old Man around and turn off the lights he turns on.  Our roles used to be reversed here.
  • Turn my porch light on later and shut it off earlier.
  • Sweep my hard floors rather than vacuum them every time there is something on them. This will push vacuuming to once a week.
  • Run the furnace less. I am adjusting the schedule so by about 45 minutes in the evening to transition to my starting nighttime temperature of 64 better.  This should help the gas bill too.
  • Turn the television off while I am doing things in other rooms. Usually I turn the volume up so this will be a real challenge. We’ll see how it goes
  • Open my blinds in the morning on days that aren’t windy to heat up the house and provide extra daylight.

Hopefully all of this pays off because I set a goal of reducing my electric bill by $38 this year over last, and right now, while I will hit that at this rate, I like to have a little more wiggle room for the hot summer that may (or may not) come and require some air conditioning.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Savings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

