The Little Savings

Well, I had wanted to post sooner but the thing about poor health is you never know when you’re going to have bad days.  I had a series of bad days, then a series of doctor appointments which leads to this: I am cancer free!  But I still have treatments to go through in order to surpass remission and approach a cure.  Because of all of this, I haven’t been able to run my January expenses and savings yet so instead I am going to make a list of my money saving things.

  • Turn down the thermostat in the winter.  I live in a winter state and keep my house at 64 most of the time I am home. When I am not home it goes down to 62.  Overnight, it’s on a cycle between 62 and 64, depending on the time.
  • Use ceiling fans in the summer.  I have low ceilings so I only use my fans in the summer and only when I am in the room.
  • Turn up the thermostat in the summer.  We keep it at 78 and only run lower that than when it is way too humid to breathe.
  • Turn off the lights.  When it’s daylight, you probably don’t need any lights on.
  • Do maintenance on your house when you need to.  A small leak can turn into a big disaster without repair.
  • Check for deals before you go shopping.
  • Make a list of what to buy and stick to it.
  • Take shorter showers.
  • Drink tap water.
  • Do laundry during the night in the summer so the dryer doesn’t the house as much.
  • Wear pants more than once before washing,
  • Bake muffins for breakfast.
  • Take orange juice in a thermos in the mining.
  • Don’t go to coffee shops.
  • When buying things you want, wait a day to make he purchase.  You may find you don’t really want it.
  • Repair things rather than buy new.
  • Pay your bills on time and in full.

Okay, there is nothing groundbreaking there.  We aren’t extreme.  But we do pay attention.  That’s all it takes.

About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Setting up for Success and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

