The Beginning

My story starts a long time ago when I was born but I will spare you the first quarter century of that story. Since I was a teenager, I had one dream: to retire at 45.  Well, I was well on my way to achieving that dream and then life threw one of it’s little curveballs a me.  That’s what happens with life, no matter how much you plan and prepare, curveballs still happen.  My curveball was in the form of cancer.  Now let’s stop right there for a second and establish some ground rules:

  • This blog is not about cancer, but cancer will come up from time to time
  • I do not want sympathy or pity or condolences because I still can wake up every morning and I can still see the good things in life
  • Cancer has changed me and is a contributing reason I decided to create this blog

Great, the ground rules are established. So as I was going through treatment (which as of this post is still ongoing), I noticed the following:

  • Treating cancer is expensive
  • People who get thrown curveballs ask for money online all the time
  • I am not a normal person

So the way my cancer fell on the calendar meant that my medical bills will total about $8,000 and that money will come due over the course of about eight months. So, with that backstory, this is what this blog is about:

  • How I am paying my medical bills without going into debt or begging for money
  • How my lifestyle is changing to accommodate my medical bills
  • All the other things that have been changed in my mind from this experience
About His Polish Princess

I'm an engineer by day and an entrepreneur by night. I live with my Old Man, and our cat, Junior. Okay, so the cat is mine, not ours. I have some old fashioned opinions and I believe the unlikely can be achieved with hard work and a little bit of luck. I like cars and motorcycles and remodeling houses and taking risks. I love my family and my community in Small Town, USA. I believe life is one grand adventure that should be lived and thoroughly enjoyed. In 2013 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease and focused on natural healing. Fortunately, my disease has been in remission since 2014. In 2015 I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma. These things are just a road bump in life. They won't stop me from remodeling or buying houses or starting new ventures. Life is all about how you see it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

